Laying Up Dinner Looks Back At Record Year

The Gunfleet Sailing Club held its 2010 Laying-Up Dinner and Dance and Presentation of Trophies last Saturday evening 16 October at the Clacton on Sea Golf Club.  Gunfleet Commodore Richard Walker welcomed 97 members to the celebration and looked back at a year of records for the Club.  Due to the record membership numbers the Club had been forced to temporarily close the door to any further new members; and there had also been a record number of Cadets and Otters at 74.  The Gunfleet Regatta had seen a record number of entries at 39 boats and had raised over £550 for Clacton Lifeboat, which was a record amount.  The Annual Cadet Week, despite being held with the weather against it, had seen a record number of 43 young people taking part; even though the Club had intended to cap the maximum to 40. 
The members sat down to an excellent meal and then the following trophies were presented by the Commodore, with, the Vice President of Clacton on Sea Sailing Club Geoff Wright stepping in to both congratulate the Gunfleet and compliment both Clubs in working closely together; and then presenting the two Trophies that Gunfleet members had won at the Clacton Sailing Club Regatta:

March Hare   Ken Potts
Spring Series   Paul Davis
Toppo Single Helm   Simon Clarke
Cadet Single Helm   Sebastien Mathewson
Bill Clarke Shield   Paul Stanton
Egg and Bacon   Simon Clarke
Ken Potts’ Pot   Kelvin Morton
Potterer’s Pot   Peter Downer
Austin Ladies Trophy  Yvonne Gough
Jubilee Trophy   Simon Clarke
Tee Dee Challenge Trophy  Ken Potts
Clacton Centenary Cup (CSC) Andy Dunnett
RNLI Centenary Cup (CSC)  Ben and Oli Withams
Jim Suckling Shield  Ken Potts
Summer Series   John Tappenden
RNLI Charity Shield  Ken Potts
London Trophy   Peter Downer
Tony Chadd Trophy   Simon Clarke
Wallet Trophy   Yvonne Gough
Hertford County Shield  Ken Potts
Class Points: Laser  Andy Dunnett
 Solution  Simon Clarke
 Topaz  Bethany Ford
 Topper  Sebastien Mathewson
 Sea Ranger  Richard Walker
Bill Geddes Trophy   Ken Potts
Double “G” Trophy (Topper) Sebastien Mathewson  
Bob Agate Trophy   Bethany Ford and Charlie Venables
Spirit of the Wind   Sonny Hart
Fleet Championships  Ken Potts
Autumn Series   Simon Clarke
Tarrant Trophy   Derroll Pedder
Senior Leading Helm  Ken Potts
Junior Leading Helm  Matt Downing
Terry Baker “Cheers” Trophy Matthew Gough
Stan Camp Progress Cup  Tom Fadden
Junior Merit Trophy  Eleanor Margetts and Ben Richardson
Cissbury Merit Trophy  Bethany Sullivan
Otter Merit Trophy   Michael Gutteridge
Stein Ladies Merit Trophy  Carol Geal
Gentlemen’s Merit Trophy  Alan Gutteridge