Paul Takes The Tee Dee Trophy

After last week’s appalling weather stopped the Gunfleet Sailing Club from completing its race for the Tee Dee Challenge Cup the plan was to rerun it on Sunday 4 July in more suitable conditions.  As the competitors arrived for the second attempt the wind freshened and the rain fell, and for a while it looked doubtful that anyone would get on the water; however, it wasn’t long before the rain stopped, the strong winds abated, and the sun broke through.  The ebb tide held the competitors the right side of the line at the start with Derroll Pedder leading the fleet in his Solo as they beat down the coast to the Lilley Farm buoy, hugging the shore on port tack.  Pedder was first to tack onto starboard but as he headed out to sea he knew he would be some distance from the mark; last to go about was Clare Giles in her Europe but there seemed little to be gained by this delay.  First to round the buoy was Paul Stanton in his Laser and there followed a reach to the Eastcliff buoy before a long run up the coast to the Kingscliff mark; Stanton establishing a stronger lead all the time.  Further back saw Brian Allen in his Laser holding off Giles and making good time.  After the Kingscliff it was a beat out to the AWS buoy and then a reach in to the line, and at the end of the first lap Stanton was leading, with Pedder and Allen in second and third place respectively.  During the second lap Giles started to put pressure on the other boats and nudged her way up to third position, but despite closing the gap still further on the third, and final, lap she was unable to overtake Pedder; Stanton claiming a clear win.

Results – Tee Dee Trophy:
1.    Laser – Paul Stanton
2.    Solo – Derroll Pedder
3.    Europe – Clare Giles

The previous Wednesday evening, 30 June, saw the second race in the Summer Series in a light offshore wind.  Following a clean start the boats reached up the coast to the Eastcliff buoy with Ken Potts taking an early lead in his Laser, rounding the mark and running out to the Lilley Farm buoy with John Tappenden giving chase in his RS Aero.  Andy Cornforth, in his Laser, took the opportunity to sail by the lee but failed to close the gap on Tappenden.  It was then a long reach out to the Seaward mark, by which time Tappenden had just achieved an overlap on Potts but on the beat back to the ODM there was a difference of opinion as to the best tactics to use.  Potts made the mark first and lead the fleet on the reach up the coast to the Preston Park buoy.  Once round this mark, Tappenden hardened-up and headed for the wrong buoy allowing Potts and Cornforth to correctly fetch back to the line and conclude the first lap, Allen in his Laser being not far behind Tappenden by now.  Potts kept a reasonable lead during the second lap and for everyone else it was a case of too little too late.

Results – Summer Series 2:
1.    Laser – Ken Potts
2.    Laser – Andy Cornforth
3.    RS Aero – John Tappenden

Course Board
Date 4 July 2021
Race Tee Dee Challenge Trophy
Start Time 11:15
Wind Strength (Beaufort) Force 3
Wind Direction South/South-West
High Tide 08:18
Course LF - E - K - AWS - Line
Course Board
Date 30 June 2021
Race Summer Series 2
Start Time 19:00
Wind Strength (Beaufort) Force 2
Wind Direction North-West
High Tide 16:55
Course E - LF - S - ODM - PP - Line