Gunfleet Laying-Up Dinner A Real Hit

Gunfleet Sailing Club held its annual Laying-Up Dinner and Dance last Saturday 31 October, at Clacton Golf Club, with the presentation of trophies for sailing and merit during 2015.  Commodore Richard Walker was pleased to welcome seventy members to the celebration and looked back at the coast protection works, and how the Club had worked with the Council and the contractor to minimise any disruption to the sailing programme.  This had resulted in a unique season for Gunfleet with, at the end of the day, all the races having been held, albeit that it had been necessary to truncate some of the series.  The new beaches had proved a massive improvement to the Club and brought-in many new members, providing a perfect platform for taking-up the sport of sailing.  The Club’s Regatta had attracted visitors from a number of other sailing clubs and the Gunfleet Cadet Week had, despite the weather, proved a real hit for the Club’s younger members.
Commodore Walker then called upon the Chairman of the Directors of Gunfleet Sailing Club Ltd. – Malcolm Jolly to present the following trophies:
March Hare Andy Dunnett
Spring Series Paul Davis and Beth Ford
Toppo Single Helm John Tappenden
Cadet Single Helm - Harry Spence
Wallet Trophy - Ken Potts
Egg and Bacon Ken Potts
Jubilee Trophy - Peter Downer
RNLI Charity Shield - Ken Potts
Tee Dee Challenge Trophy - John Tappenden
Potterer’s Pot - Peter Downer
Ken Potts’ Pot - Ken Potts
Austin Ladies Trophy - Beth Ford
Bill Clarke Shield Ken Potts
Hertford County Shield - Ken Potts
London Trophy - Paul Stanton
Jim Suckling Shield - John Tappenden
Summer Series - Simon Clarke and Emily Cossens
Tony Chadd Trophy - Ken Potts
Class Points:
   Laser - Yvonne Gough
   Solution - Sonny Hart
   405 - Conor and Finlay Williams
   Topaz - Tom and Ed Philpot
   Topper - Harry Swinbourne
   Sea Ranger - Richard Walker
Bill Geddes Trophy - John Tappenden
Double “G” Trophy - Harry Swinbourne
Bob Agate Trophy - Harry Spence
SOS Trophy - Conor and Finlay Williams
Spirit of the Wind - Robert Gutteridge
Fleet Championships - Ken Potts
Autumn Series - Andy Dunnett
Tarrant Trophy - Beth Elliott
Senior Leading Helm - Ken Potts
Junior Leading Helm - Harry Swinbourne
Terry Baker “Cheers” Trophy - Fred Webster
Stan Camp Progress Cup - Tom Philpot
Junior Merit Trophy - Tom Philpot
Cissbury Merit Trophy - Nick Cottee
Stein Ladies’ Merit Trophy - Daisy Swinbourne
Gentlemen’s Merit Trophy - Peter Downer
The evening then continued with entertainment and dancing to “Topper The Pops”
The next day, Sunday, members gathered to take part in the second race of the Gunfleet Winter Series, only to be greeted by fog and a complete lack of wind; the Officer of the Day having no alternative but to cancel the event.