75 Members Celebrate At The Laying-Up Dinner & Dance

Gunfleet Sailing Club welcomed 75 members to its annual Laying-Up Dinner and Dance last Saturday 26 October, held at the Clacton on Sea Golf Club.  Following an excellent meal Commodore Richard Walker looked back on a very successful year for the Club.  Membership stood at an all-time record, the races had been very well supported and the social functions had seen “house full” signs on a number of occasions.  The only events that had really suffered had been the cruises, due to the adverse weather on the day.  The Cadet Sailing On Saturday had been considerably expanded this year and the Cadet Week had proved the best ever.  Gunfleet’s Regatta resulted in an excellent turn-out and was really enjoyed by those from visiting clubs. 
Commodore Walker then welcomed the Chairman of the Directors of Gunfleet Sailing Club Ltd. Malcolm Jolly who presented the following trophies:
March Hare: Paul Davis
Spring Series:  John Tappenden
Toppo Single: Helm Paul Davis
Cadet Single: Helm Beth Ford
Wallet Trophy: John Tappenden
Egg and Bacon:  Ken Potts
Jubilee Trophy:  John Tappenden
RNLI Charity Shield:  Simon Clarke & Emily Cossens
Tee Dee Challenge Trophy:  John Tappenden
Potterer’s Pot:  Richard Walker
Ken Potts’ Pot:  John Tappenden
Austin Ladies Trophy:  Emily Cossens
Hertford County Shield:  John Tappenden
London Trophy:  Paul Davis
Jim Suckling: Shield Ken Potts
Summer Series:  John Tappenden
Tony Chadd Trophy:  Paul Davis
Class Points:
Laser:  Andy Dunnett
Solution:  Paul Davis
405:  Conor & Finlay Williams
Topaz:  Beth Elliott & Darcie Baker
Topper:  Robert Gutteridge
Sea Ranger:  Richard Walker
Bill Geddes Trophy:  Ken Potts
Sailing On Saturday Class Racing:
Double “G” Trophy - Topper:  Tommy Martin
Bob Agate Trophy - Topaz:  Beth Elliott & Darcie Baker
SOS Trophy - 405:  Charlie & Harry Spence
Long John Silver Shield - Menagerie:  Beth Ford
Spirit of the Wind:  Robert Gutteridge
Fleet Championships:  Ken Potts
Autumn Series:  Peter Downer
Tarrant Trophy:  Eddie White
Senior Leading Helm:  John Tappenden
Junior Leading Helm:  Robert Gutteridge
Terry Baker “Cheers” Trophy:  Trevor Fuller
Stan Camp Progress Cup:  Steve, Daisy & Harry Swinbourne
Junior Merit Trophy:  Brogan Bates
Cissbury Merit Trophy:  Beth Elliott
Stein Ladies’ Merit Trophy:  Sandra Walker
Gentlemen’s Merit Trophy:  Kevin Jay
The evening then continued with entertainment and dancing to “Topper The Pops”, until the wee-small hours.