Laying-Up Celebrates Sixty Years of Gunfleet

Gunfleet Sailing Club celebrated the end of the 2022 sailing season on Saturday 15 October with its Laying-Up Supper and presentation of trophies in the Clubhouse.  After a delicious meal, Commodore Richard Walker welcomed everyone present and looked back at sixty years of sailing at the Club, since its foundation in 1962, and was delighted to report that 2022 had been one of the best sailing seasons for very many years; numbers on the water being considerably up.

Commodore Walker then called upon the Chairman of the Directors of Gunfleet Sailing Club Ltd. – Malcolm Jolly to present the following trophies:

March Hare                              Andy Dunnett
Spring Series                           Ken Potts
Toppo Single Helm                   Ken Potts
Wallet Trophy                           Ken Potts
Gunfleet Chase                        John Tappenden
Jubilee Trophy                          Ken Potts
RNLI Charity Shield                  Andy Cornforth
Ken Potts’ Pot                           John Tappenden
Bill Clarke Shield                       John Tappenden
Tee Dee Challenge Trophy        John Tappenden
Hertford County Shield              Ken Potts
Summer Series                         John Tappenden
Tony Chadd Trophy                  Ken Potts
Class Points:    Laser               Robert Mitchell
                         Solo                 Dave Fowell
                         Comet              Malcolm Smith
                         Topaz               John Tappenden
                         Topper              Finley Taylor
                         Menagerie        Dave Ingle
Bill Geddes Trophy                    Andy Cornforth
Autumn Series                          Robert Mitchell
London Trophy                         Jono Dunnett
Potterers Pot                            Malcolm Smith
Jim Suckling Shield                  Ken Potts
Personal PY Pursuit Trophy     Jono Dunnett
Fleet Championship                 Tim Dye
Tarrant Trophy                          Brian Allen
Senior Leading Helm                Ken Potts
Junior Leading Helm                Finley Taylor