Laying-Up Supper Celebrates A Great Season

The Gunfleet Sailing Club held its 2009 Laying-Up Supper and Presentation of Trophies last Saturday evening 17 October at the Walton and Frinton Yacht Club.  Gunfleet Commodore Richard Walker welcomed over 60 members to the evening’s celebrations and looked back at a year that had seen a 33% increase in membership, the purchase of a second safety boat, the replacement of the veranda, two brand new Topazes being donated to the Club by a member for the Cadets and Otters, refurbishment of the changing rooms and new flooring in the Clubhouse.  Things had been just as active on the water with the Club holding a Laser Open, the Solution National Championships, the two day Club Regatta with a record number of entries, plus a highly successful Cadet Week.  This was on top of the usual Club racing and cruises, all of which had been completed.  The Regatta weekend itself had raised £488 for the Clacton Lifeboat Station.
The members sat down to an excellent meal and then the following trophies were presented by the Club’s Rear Commodore Catherine Venables:

March Hare    Ken Potts
Spring Series    Ken Potts
Toppo Single Helm   Simon Clarke
Cadet Single Helm    Matt Downing
Bill Clarke Shield   Simon Clarke
Egg and Bacon    John Tappenden
Ken Potts’ Pot    John Tappenden
Potterer’s Pot    Mark Venables
Austin Ladies Trophy   Yvonne Gough
Jubilee Trophy    Ken Potts
Tee Dee Challenge Trophy  John Tappenden
Jim Suckling Shield   Kelvin Morton
Summer Series    Simon Clarke
RNLI Charity Shield   John Tappenden
London Trophy    Ken Potts
Tony Chadd Cup    John Tappenden
Wallet Trophy    Simon Clarke
Hertford County Shield   Ken Potts
Class Points: 
Laser Challenge   Andy Dunnett
Frank Hyde Solution Tankard  Simon Clarke
Star Point Topaz Trophy  Charlie Venables
F. W. Mitchell Sea Ranger Trophy Fred Webster

Bill Geddes Trophy   Ken Potts
Spirit of the Wind   Matt Downing
Fleet Championships   John Tappenden
Autumn Series    Simon Clarke
1893 Regatta Trophy   Andy Dunnett
Tim Webster Tankard   Simon Clarke
Dave Fowell Trophy   Dan Challis and Robert Gutteridge
Mad Hatter Challenge   Tom Fadden
Trefoil Trophy    Richard Walker
Tarrant Trophy    Paul Stanton
Senior Leading Helm   Ken Potts
Junior Leading Helm   Matt Downing
Terry Baker “Cheers” Trophy  Eddie White
Stan Camp Progress Cup  Jon and Linda Meggison
Junior Merit Trophy   Tom Fadden
Cissbury Merit Trophy   Aaron Baker
Stein Ladies Merit Trophy  Susan Baker
Gentlemen’s Merit Trophy  Jon Meggison